Tom Binns bandwagon

April 13, 2009 § Leave a comment

black pearl/bead necklace

black pearl/bead necklace

gold wire cuff

gold wire cuff

So this will be an introductory post to set things off on the right foot. I used to blog on blogger for myself and for a little jewelry shop called Spiralz Studio. My personal blog kinda suffered since I spent more time posting for Spiralz and drumming up traffic for the blog. As I posted before, I’m testing out wordpress for now while I develop my own website. This blog is really a ‘soap box’ of sorts for me to write about whatever I deem interesting with a focus on fashion, jewelry, travel and design.

So! on with the show!

Tom Binns. Love. I wish I lived in NYC (as always) so that I could visit his new store! (41 Perry st) You can see a slideshow over at the Cut blog. Don’t know of Binns’s work? Well, you’re in for a treat. He believes that jewelry should be a treasure whether or not it is made with diamonds or gold. Some of my faves of his pieces are his multilayered necklaces made with crystals and sterling silver. He also uses colored stones and beach glass in many designs. Even the First Lady wears his stuff. I posted on the Spiralz blog a while back about Michelle Obama being spotted wearing one of his necklaces. I posted some of my fave pieces. What are your faves?

black crystal binns necklace

black crystal binns necklace

layered crystals and pearls necklace

layered crystals and pearls necklace

oxidized silver, crystals and rhodium plated necklace

oxidized silver, crystals and rhodium plated necklace

He does much more than only necklaces of course. Here are some earrings and bracelets that I love.

black skull and crystal earring

black skull and crystal earring

spiral gold earrings

spiral gold earrings

beach glass bracelet

beach glass bracelet

pearls, beads, crystal cuff

pearls, beads, crystal cuff

So what do you think? Are you also on the Binns Bandwagon? (yes yes, i know its corny. i can live with my own corniness.) Isn’t Tom Binns great?! Now I just have to go about owning a few pieces…hopefully I’ll find them at a steal. This Great Recession is really hampering my shopping forays…not that I was spending thousands before or anything…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tom Binns bandwagon at reality sandwiches.

meta

