Alexis Bittar in W mag!

April 15, 2009 § 1 Comment

Sooo, I was hanging out at Border’s and flipping through some magazines, when I came across a write up on awesome jeweler Alexis Bittar! The article is in the May 2009 W magazine. You can read the article online also. Its a nice little write up, giving details on his background, why he became a jeweler, and where he’s headed. Not only do I love his work, I also love the fact that he produces locally (Brooklyn) instead of outsourcing to Asia. It may be an issue of practicality for him, but I think its great just the same.

I used to do graphic design for a niche jewelry studio that prided itself on selling unique items of the highest quality…nothing mass manufactured in Hong Kong or anywhere else where quality gets shafted for quantity. There was a tangible difference in the workmanship of the pieces and if they retailed a bit more, its because they were better quality, more durable and more exclusive. Bittar’s work isn’t outrageously priced (there’s a decent price point range) and its all made locally by people he can oversee and that adds to the value of his jewelry.

Check out his website! I swoon every time I visit…omg I want everything! Everything I tell you! These are only a few of my faves:

large moon dust abalone hinge bracelet

large moon dust abalone hinge bracelet

vanderbilt deco cuff

vanderbilt deco cuff

block ring

block ring

large moon dust abalone ring

large moon dust abalone ring

the garden necklace

the garden necklace

Isn’t his work fab? Its really hard to choose faves… but these are definitely on my wish list!!  Can you believe I’ve only been a fan for a few months? I first found out about him from the JewelryWhore blog. I had seen some of his pieces before that but didn’t know the name of the designer. Then I read a post on Jewelry Whore and fell in love…

Its makes me happy to see him in W. I hope more and more people discover his beautiful pieces and buy them! 😉

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Alexis Bittar in W mag!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Alexis Bittar in W mag! at reality sandwiches.

meta

